Doctor Who – Fandom Reads

Welcome to the second post in my new weekly Fandom Reads series! This week, obviously we’re going to be tackling Doctor Who. First, because I’m obsessed (who isn’t? Seriously, if you haven’t watched this show yet, please give it a shot. I can even give you some episode recommendations that will give you a good taste for it, rather than starting from the first episode of series 1.) Second, because when I decided to do this series I immediately thought of the clue so that meant that DW would have to be done as soon as possible! Anywho… This fantastic television program follows the Doctor and his companion (friend, guys) as they travel in a ship not only through space but time as well. Sometimes they even fight evil by moonlight.

If you like Doctor Who, then you’re in luck because they actually have a ton of DW books written. I’ve read a few of them and they can be pretty fun easy reads. The series also has a spin-off called Torchwood which is no longer on the air and a new spin-off called the Class, both of which also have tie-in/companion novels.

Without further ado, here are my book recommendations if you’re a fan of Doctor Who:

Image result for a thousand pieces of you

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

This dimension jumping novel will evoke feelings of Doctor Who (despite the TARDIS not being able to go to alternate universes, usually). A race through worlds and pursuit of justice will appeal to fans of the dramatic sci-fi show.

Image result for the hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

A journey through space? Check. Hilarious adventures and diverse sidekicks? Check. Perfect for fans of Doctor Who? Of course!

Image result for cloud atlas book cover

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas jumps through time, intricately weaving a variety of narratives into one larger story in a way that is appealing to Doctor Who fans.

Image result for passenger alexandra bracken

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

This young adult time travel novel will appeal to fan of both Doctor Who and history. As Etta jumps through time and into important moments in history, readers might be reminded of fantastic Doctor Who episodes like The Girl In the Fireplace or The Fires of Pompeii.

Image result for invictus ryan graudin

Invictus by Ryan Graudin

This upcoming release (September 26th) follows Far, the commander of a ship that steals artifacts from the past and sells them on the black market, to a heist on the Titanic and on a race through time.

Simple-Line-Light-4

What did you guys think of these recommendations? If you love Doctor Who and I totally missed a book/series that you think would be perfect, let me know! What do you think next week’s fandom will be?

16 thoughts on “Doctor Who – Fandom Reads

      • kyera says:

        Haha. Can’t let being busy get in the way of DW. I was told that you really need to watch the Class before starting Capaldi’s newest season, but I haven’t seen either yet. I just got home, so I’m going to watch them soon. I can’t wait!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s